FeaturedNews TrendPolitical Affairs

Shake up as INEC redeploys 2 RECs, 8 Directors

By Danlami Nmodu

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has redeployed two Resident Electoral Commissioners.

According to a statement signed by Festus Okoye, INEC, National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, the shake up is on line with extant policy.

Okoye said, “The public may recall that on 24th March 2022, the Commission redeployed 385 staff nationwide. On that occasion, the Commission announced that this will be a routine exercise which will continue from time to time.

“In line with the extant policy, the Commission hereby redeploys two Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) and eight directorate level staff “.

The RECs include: Dr Cyril Omorogbe,REC Cross River State now to serve as REC Akwa Ibom State;Dr Alalibo Johnson Sinikiem who was moved as REC Edo State to serve as REC Cross River State.

The directors moved include: Engineer Paul Omokore, Director, Planning & Monitoring Department, Headquarters, Abuja now Director ICT, Headquarters, Abuja;Engineer Chidi Nwafor, Director, ICT ,now Administrative Secretary, Enugu State and Mr Chima Duruaku, Administrative Secretary, Anambra State becomes Director, Planning & Monitoring Department, Headquarters, Abuja.

Also, Mr. Jude Okwuanu, Administrative Secretary, Enugu State becomes Administrative Secretary, Anambra State;Usman Musa Wase, Acting Director, Human Resource Management, Headquarters, Abuja posted as Acting Administrative Secretary, Nasarawa State; Mr Salisu Garba, Director in the Electoral Operations Department becomes Director Procurement, Headquarters, Abuja;Barr. Waziri Zanna, Acting Administrative Secretary, FCT moved as Acting Director, Human Resource Management, Headquarters, Abuja and Godwin Wada Edibo, Acting Administrative Secretary, Nasarawa State becomes Acting Administrative Secretary, FCT.

Okoye said, the redeployments/postings take immediate effect. Handing and taking over should be concluded on/or before Friday 26th August 2022.

See the official table from INEC below:

1.Dr Cyril OmorogbeREC Cross River StateREC Akwa Ibom State
2.Dr Alalibo Johnson SinikiemREC Edo StateREC Cross River State
3.Engineer Paul OmokoreDirector, Planning & Monitoring Department, Headquarters, AbujaDirector ICT, Headquarters, Abuja
4.Engineer Chidi NwaforDirector, ICTAdministrative Secretary, Enugu State
5.Mr Chima DuruakuAdministrative Secretary, Anambra StateDirector, Planning & Monitoring Department, Headquarters, Abuja
6.Mr. Jude OkwuanuAdministrative Secretary, Enugu StateAdministrative Secretary, Anambra State
7.Usman Musa WaseActing Director, Human Resource Management, Headquarters, AbujaActing Administrative Secretary, Nasarawa State
8.Mr Salisu GarbaDirector in the Electoral Operations DepartmentDirector Procurement, Headquarters, Abuja
9.Barr. Waziri ZannaActing Administrative Secretary, FCTActing Director, Human Resource Management, Headquarters, Abuja
10.Godwin Wada EdiboActing Administrative Secretary, Nasarawa StateActing Administrative Secretary, FCT

Leave a Reply