FeaturedNews TrendPolitical Affairs

Ogun Govt. inaugurates C’mtees on workers, pensioners’ demands

By Chimezie Godfrey

In fulfillment of the Memorandum of Action signed by the Ogun State Government and the State Chapter of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), the government has inaugurated Contributory Pensions Scheme Review and Consequential Pensions Adjustment Committees, to ensure improved welfare for the Public and Civil Servants, as well as the Pensioners.

The government and the organised labour in the State had signed a Memorandum of Action on July 1, 2022, to put an end to the strike and also settle the bottleneck around issues relating to workers’ and pensioners’ welfare in the State.

Inaugurating the Committees at the Governor’s Office, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Tokunbo Talabi said the welfare of both serving workers and retirees is germane to the agenda of the Prince Dapo Abiodun-led administration, adding that it has set machinery in motion to commence the payment of gross salary from July 2022.

The State’s scribe tasked the Committees to critically examine the operations and implementation of the Contributory Pension Scheme (CPS), to determine the improved number of monthly pensions payable to retirees in the State and Local Governments, to cushion the effect of the current economic realities.

In his remark, the Head of Service, Dr. Nafiu Aigoro stated that the present administration is irrevocably committed to the welfare of the Civil Servants and pensioners, calling on workers to continue to support the government.

Also speaking, the State Chairman of Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Emmanuel Bankole, expressed optimism that the inauguration of the Committees would address lingering labour issues.

On his part, the State Chairman of Nigeria Union of Pensioners, Comrade Waheed Oloyede, admonished the Committees to ensure speedy recommendations, towards boosting public confidence in government.

The Contributory Pensions Scheme Review Committee members include Permanent Secretaries in the Ministries of Finance, Alhaji Hassan Adekunle as Chairman, Budget and Planning, Mrs. Funmilayo Dada, Bureaux of Establishments and Training, Mrs. Lydia Fajounbo, State Pensions, Mr. Kolawole Sodeinde, Service Matters, Mr. Dahunsi Ogunleye and Local Government Pensions, Mrs. Oluwabukonla Adeniregun.

Others are the Accountant-General/Permanent Secretary, Treasury, Mr. Tunde Aregbesola, and his counterpart in the Ministry of Justice, Mr. Bamidele Adebayo, Director of Planning, Research and Statistics, State Pensions, Mr.  Babajide Macjob, among others.

Representatives of the Organised Labour in the Committee were the Chairmen, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Ogun State Chapter, Comrades Emmanuel Bankole, Trade Union Congress (TUC), Akeem Lasisi, Benco Ademola, Akeem Balogun and Olusegun Adebiyi.

Similarly, the  Consequential Pensions Adjustment Committee members include, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Budget and Planning, Mrs. Funmilayo Dada as Chairman, her counterparts in the Finance Ministry, Alhaji Hassan Adekunle, Establishment and Training, Mrs. Lydia Fajounbo, State Pensions, Mr. Olukunle Sodeinde, Service Matters, Mr. Dahunsi Ogunleye, Local Government Pensions, Mrs. Oluwabukonla  Adeniregun, Accountant-General, Mr.Tunde Aregbesola, Justice, Mr. Bamidele Adebayo, and Director, Transitional Pension Scheme (State Pensions), Mr. Kayode Ogun.

Other members are the representative of the Nigeria Union of Pensioners which include, Hon. Samson Adebo, Comrades Emmanuel Adeegbe, Tajudeen Oguntoyinbo, Alexander Obadimu, and some members of the Organised Labour; Abiodun Akinola, Adebiyi Olusegun, Ismail Sanyaolu, and others.

Leave a Reply